Sonata for clarinet and piano,
Op.84 (1964)

Allegro moderato, Andantino, Adagio - allegro con spirito
Duration: 22'
First published by Hinrichsen, London, 1965
Now available in a new edition published by Schott (KLB 47).

Performances (selection):

Thea King, London, Mar. 1965
Manchester, Oct. 1965 (Concert in Honour of Hans Gál and Egon Wellesz)
John McLeod/Margaret Murray, Edinburgh, Mar. 1968
Ottokar Drapal/Hans Gál, Vienna Radio, Aug. 1968, Mar. 1971
Terence Newcombe/Marjorie Dunbar, Edinburgh, Jan. 1977
Ronald Mackie/Audrey Innes, Edinburgh, Aug. 1980
Philip Greene/Leon Coates, Edinburgh, Oct. 1985
Mainz, Sep. 1990 (100th anniversary concert)
Murray Khouri/John McCabe, BBC Radio, May 1991
Yasuyuki Kono/Tasuku Shiomi, Kyoto, Mar. 2010
Hochschule für Musik und Theater, Leipzig, Oct. 2012

Programme notes:

Gál's main works for clarinet are the Serenade Op.93 for Clarinet, Violin and Violoncello (1935), the Trio Op.97 for Violin, Clarinet and Piano (1950), the Sonata Op.84 for Clarinet and Piano (1965) and the Quintet Op.107 for Clarinet and String Quartet (1977). [Opus numbers indicate the sequence of publication, dates in brackets give the year of composition].

The Clarinet Sonata was composed in the same year as its 'partner', the Sonata for Oboe and Piano Op.85, and belongs to the late period of his writing. Gál's style, however, is characterised by a remarkable integrity and consistency. While deeply rooted in the Austro-German musical tradition, he had by the time of his late twenties found his own distinctive musical language, to which he remained true, while constantly exploring new genres and combinations. His music combines intricate contrapuntal texture with a continuous flow of melody, lyricism with emotional restraint, clarity and precision of form with tonal and harmonic complexity that reward deeper study.

First performance: Vienna (Radio)

Recordings available
Audio samples
Click for audio samples